1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. To combat forum spam, new accounts will need to make at least one (valid) post.
    Otherwise, we will periodically purge all users without posts or that haven't confirmed their account.

Help with setting up flat-file database

Discussion in 'General' started by ALES, May 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ALES

ALES Newbie Calendar User

Hi all, I hope someone can answer this for me. I am not an expert with this PHP stuff by any means, but am willing to learn how to get this to work! I am still using the trial version until I figure out that this will work for me and my questions are as follows: Which in your opinion is better? Using the SQLdb option or the flatfile option? Second, My hosting service supports use of SQL database, which I know because I've managed to setup phpBB2 forums. I know the name of my database, but when I get to the point to add a new table to this database 1) what name should I give it? Is there a name I should give it relative to the calendar code? and 2) my database setup wants to know how many fields to create? Should I leave that blank and if not, what number should I apply to this?

I tried the flat-file option but even though I set up a user name and password and renamed my textfile to what I wanted, it didn't work for me. ??? Which is why I'm now going the SQL route. I hope you understand my question! Thanks in advance for responding!

A. Smithson :)

2. ALES

Figured out my own problem!

Just letting everyone know I figured out my own question. Thanks!

A. Smithson

3. Brian

Brian EPC Developer Staff Member

Great! I like those! :classic:

4. ALES

So much for figuring things out on my own!